My Forum About > Automotive > Motorcycle
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
  #1
Champ
 
Default OT: spam question

A professional colleague I deal with has a blog at blogspot.com. He
publicises this in his email sig.

Our anti-spam software at work is identifying this as spam, saying
that blogspot.com is listed on SpamHaus.

Looking at blogspot.com, it seems to be a fairly reasonable site.
Does anyone else have any experience with them? Anyone know why they
might be listed on SpamHaus?
--
Champ
I don't know, but I been told, you never slow down, you never get old
ZX10R | GPz750turbo | GSX-R600 (race)
neal at champ dot org dot uk
 
  #2
Brownz @ Work
 
Default Re: spam question

Champ wrote:
> A professional colleague I deal with has a blog at blogspot.com. He
> publicises this in his email sig.
>
> Our anti-spam software at work is identifying this as spam, saying
> that blogspot.com is listed on SpamHaus.
>
> Looking at blogspot.com, it seems to be a fairly reasonable site.
> Does anyone else have any experience with them? Anyone know why they
> might be listed on SpamHaus?


I've an account with them - http://brownzfish.blogspot.com/ - for a while
now.

I don't think I've ever had an email from them, so they can't pester people
with ads etc.


--
Cheerz - Brownz
http://www.brownz.org/


 
  #3
Ian Northeast
 
Default Re: OT: spam question

On Thu, 12 Jul 2007 16:49:32 +0100, Champ wrote:

> A professional colleague I deal with has a blog at blogspot.com. He
> publicises this in his email sig.
>
> Our anti-spam software at work is identifying this as spam, saying that
> blogspot.com is listed on SpamHaus.
>
> Looking at blogspot.com, it seems to be a fairly reasonable site. Does
> anyone else have any experience with them? Anyone know why they might be
> listed on SpamHaus?


Spamhaus' explanation:

Thousands upon thousands of *.blogspot.com pages, all spammed and used to
re-direct to other spammer landing pages: Mortgages, porn, and the
majority being illegal pharma, eg: http://manxxkajil.blogspot.com/

i.e. many spam mails contain blogspot.com URLs. Presumably this is because
it is easy to get an account.

Regards, Ian

 
  #4
Champ
 
Default Re: OT: spam question

On Thu, 12 Jul 2007 19:48:30 +0100, Ian Northeast
<ian@house-from-hell.demon.co.uk> wrote:

>On Thu, 12 Jul 2007 16:49:32 +0100, Champ wrote:
>
>> A professional colleague I deal with has a blog at blogspot.com. He
>> publicises this in his email sig.
>>
>> Our anti-spam software at work is identifying this as spam, saying that
>> blogspot.com is listed on SpamHaus.
>>
>> Looking at blogspot.com, it seems to be a fairly reasonable site. Does
>> anyone else have any experience with them? Anyone know why they might be
>> listed on SpamHaus?

>
>Spamhaus' explanation:
>
>Thousands upon thousands of *.blogspot.com pages, all spammed and used to
>re-direct to other spammer landing pages: Mortgages, porn, and the
>majority being illegal pharma, eg: http://manxxkajil.blogspot.com/
>
>i.e. many spam mails contain blogspot.com URLs. Presumably this is because
>it is easy to get an account.


Many thanks

I'll suggest to my colleague (who's also a friend) that he might want
to host his blog elsewhere
--
Champ

ZX10R | GPz750turbo | GSX-R 600 racer
My advice as your attorney is to buy a motorcycle
To email me, neal at my domain should work.
 
  #5
Pip Luscher
 
Default Re: OT: spam question

On Thu, 12 Jul 2007 19:48:30 +0100, Ian Northeast
<ian@house-from-hell.demon.co.uk> wrote:

>Thousands upon thousands of *.blogspot.com pages, all spammed and used to
>re-direct to other spammer landing pages: Mortgages, porn, and the
>majority being illegal pharma, eg: http://manxxkajil.blogspot.com/
>
>i.e. many spam mails contain blogspot.com URLs. Presumably this is because
>it is easy to get an account.


I've certainly seen spam with blogspot.com URLs.

--
-Pip
 
  #6
dog
 
Default Re: OT: spam question

Pip Luscher wrote:
> >Thousands upon thousands of *.blogspot.com pages, all spammed and used to
> >re-direct to other spammer landing pages: Mortgages, porn, and the
> >majority being illegal pharma, eg: http://manxxkajil.blogspot.com/
> >
> >i.e. many spam mails contain blogspot.com URLs. Presumably this is because
> >it is easy to get an account.

>
> I've certainly seen spam with blogspot.com URLs.


maybe you need to use spamhaus then.
--
dog
sl1000 two#5
 
  #7
Pip Luscher
 
Default Re: OT: spam question

On 13 Jul 2007 08:13:33 GMT, dog <dog@dev.null> wrote:

>Pip Luscher wrote:
>> >Thousands upon thousands of *.blogspot.com pages, all spammed and used to
>> >re-direct to other spammer landing pages: Mortgages, porn, and the
>> >majority being illegal pharma, eg: http://manxxkajil.blogspot.com/
>> >
>> >i.e. many spam mails contain blogspot.com URLs. Presumably this is because
>> >it is easy to get an account.

>>
>> I've certainly seen spam with blogspot.com URLs.

>
>maybe you need to use spamhaus then.


I should clarify and say not at home: NTL do seem to do a pretty good
spam-trapping service. We have had spam recently but only a couple of
emails from local companies.

At the current workplace I haven't seen any spam either.

--
-Pip
 
Reply
Thread Tools


Powered by vBulletin

SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0 ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.